How We Operate Version 3 – Author’s Note

Previous Chapter | Back to Index | Next Chapter

My Dearest Readers: 

Dearest Readers,

I wanted to drop in and give another update on what’s going on with HWO since my last AN to back on January 25th, and perhaps rant a little about what’s happened so far at the end of this note. First, let me start by saying that I FINALLY finished all of the prep work needed in order for me start rewriting the third and final version (V.3) a couple of weeks ago, and have started the actual rewriting process.

I will be posting the third version on AO3. I honestly feel that Ao3 is just the easiest platform for a story this large, which is why I’m going in that direction. That being said, I’m going back and forth on how I want to structure the Arcs/the story as a whole, and would really appreciate your opinion on the two scenarios below:

  • Post all Arc 1, 2 & 3 in one giant How We Operate fic (this was how I posted the original version on Ao3) – if I do it this way, I won’t be posting the chapters until all the arcs are finished so as to avoid long gaps where a chapter might not come out due to real life things.
  • Create a Series on Ao3 for How We Operate and post Arc 1, 2 and 3 in their own separate fics – if I do it this way, I actually would expect to have Arc 1 published on Ao3 by the end of March.

Now for my rant because OMG I really just want to vent about it

Surprisingly, the prep part of this was a lot more work than I thought it would be because of how different the original version (V.1) is from my 2nd version (V.2). Basically I did an extremely shitty thing when I decided to drop off the face of the Earth 7 years ago, and for those of you that I sent the original copy to back when I had no intentions of picking this up again–you have my deepest apologies for all the confusion I threw at you (i.e., not telling you where to pick back up, sending a PDF version that was 800k words/1,000+ pages, being confusing as fuck)

For those that aren’t aware–V.2 leaves off right in the middle of material/chapters that weren’t in the V.1 story, which was 42 chapters long as opposed to the version on here. Also, V.2 leaves off in the middle Arc 2 whereas V.1 leaves off in Arc 3. In order for me to successfully get V.3 off the ground, I needed to get into an organized mind set given the sheer size of this story. I had to go through the painstaking process of picking through my original copy to find the best place to merge it with V.2, and after that was done, I needed to create a new outline off my old notes so that I’ll be able to tie new material from V.2 with V.1. to ULTIMATELY create the new material for V.3.

Got that done. Next came the process of getting all the chapters from V.2 (everything on this website) and the chapters from V.1 (the ones I actually needed from Arc 2 and 3) into google docs so I can start rewriting them/merging the stories together. That process was pretty easy until it came time for me to integrate the chapters from my original copy—which was literal hell on Earth because I only have a PDF version of it thanks to Ao3. I didn’t know that when you try to copy and paste a PDF into a word doc, it will stitch all the paragraphs together. Not an issue unless the doc you’re trying to edit/reorganize is 800,000 words and a bajillion pages. FORTUNATELY I did a free trial of adobe pro and converted it to word and got everything organized/separated.

10 thoughts on “How We Operate Version 3 – Author’s Note

  1. Ahhhhhhhh the website made me log back in and totally deleted my entire comment!!! I’ll try and write my feelings as good as i did the first time 😭

    Hey!!!! It’s so great to see you back and working on the story once more! I laughed outloud when you mentioned sending your giant pdf to people, because i still tell my friends the story of how i panic-searched an author for hours before finding them and positively begging for a copy of their deleted work… and getting it!!🤣 it’s a very fond memory for sure. I’m so glad you’re in a place in your life where u can feel like coming back to this project and hopefully following it to the end! I love the idea of separating it into different works in a series because i think it gives a nice clear distinction between story arcs (and i LOVE reading series where each section has its own summary and bookmarks lol) 🥰! Thebookwork98 is my ao3 username, in case u see me in your kudos and comments!

    Hope you’re doing well!! 😁 so exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your feedback!! I actually agree completely with your pros on making the arcs their own fics. Honestly when I first started HWO back in 2015… I had zero idea it was going to get as big as it did, and by the time I came to sort of regret keeping in one big fic… I was already like 450k in, lol

      Also, I’m glad you found some enjoyment out of my pdf struggles! And even When I did get the ability to convert the pdf to word… it was such a large attachment that I kept getting an error message every time I tried to convert it. I ended up having to split up all of the chapters in the pdf using the adobe splitter, and THEN convert them to word one by one. Took my like 3 hours because of how slow it was in addition to copying the word versions and pasting them in the Google docs.

      Ugh but so worth it. I will never delete these Google doc versions EVER again

      Like

  2. It’s great to hear from you again!

    To answer to question, I think you could post it either way on AO3, but personally I would prefer a series with each arc being its own story. I would prefer that for two reasons, 1- while I love long fics, really long ones can be daunting and if I pause in reading for a while I can forget what chapter I was at; 2- I would just love to start rereading this again, but I’m holding off until you post version 3 lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. WOW! Thank you for taking all of the time to do all of this! Just WOW! I have been hoarding the PDF version you sent me… I don’t even know when and bouncing between the sites each time I re-read 😂 I can’t wait to read everything together in your new version! From my use of AO3, I know I definitely prefer separate stories gathered in a series so my vote is for that (and not at all influenced by the idea of how soon that means I may be able to read the new version 😂😂😂). Regardless of how you choose to post – I’m so glad you’re back and can’t wait to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi. i think keep it a 3 arcs-parts- not make it one big story. Mostly because of its size i can see it being a bit daunting for you to deal with as one story. Its a lot easier to finish third of the story , proof read and re-write then it is deal with all 3 of them at once

    And , like any big task there is something satisfying about being able to say ‘well thats that bit done’ and drawing a line under it then having a bit of a break before dealing with the next bit.

    frances

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think I’ll echo the majority of the people by saying that I’d prefer a series instead of one giant fic. A three smaller ones would be easier to read without getting overwhelmed. Also, as someone whose current fic plotline is almost over 700k and ongoing (separated into 2 fics), I can say that being able to wrap up a fic gives a nice motivation boost to keep going!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey, I just saw you posted a new update AFTER I commented on your last post. So most of what I said there, you can ignore, since its already old coffee (I hope this idiom exists in english as well). Im excited to see the new work in ao3. Will you post a link on this webside? I don’t actually know, which way its better to post. Im sure youll find the best way. I wish you the best 🙂 until next time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. HELLO YES HI! Praying and hoping for a 2024 post, whatever way you decide to end up posting it sounds great! Splitting different arcs into seperate stories may, however, make for a less daunting read for those who have never come across this amazing doc before. I have BEEN THERE with pdf’s omg… also had to do the free adobe trial thing multiple times XD

    hope all has been going well for you (and if you read this soon) you’ve had a happy and merry holidays!

    Like

Leave a comment